Who We Work With

Who We Work With: Faculty and Staff

The Honey and Pollination Center works with a number of different departments at UC Davis for research and educational courses in the following areas:

Mead: The alcoholic beverage of honey.


Chik Brenneman

Chik Brenneman, Winemaker and Manager, LEED Platinum Teaching and Research Winery, Department of Viticulture and Enology

Dave Block

David Block, Professor and Chair, Viticulture and Enology

Christine Casey

Christine Casey, Program Representative, Haagen-Dazs Honey Bee Haven

Irina Delusina

Irina Delusina, Project Scientist, Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences


Amy Fletcher

Amy Fletcher, Pilot Plant Manager, Department of Food Science and Technology

Matthew Ford

Matthew Ford, Lab Manager, Carolos Alvarez Food Innovation Lab, Food Science and Technology

Jean Xavier Guinard

Jean-Xavier Guinard, Professor and Interim Executive Director; Robert Mondavi Institute of Wine and Food Science


Shermain Hardesty, Cooperative Extension Specialist, Agricultural and Resource Economics

Hildegarde Heymann Hildegarde Heymann, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor, Viticulture and Enology Lucy Joseph Lucy Joseph, Culture Curator, Wine Yeast and Bacteria Collection, Department of Viticulture and Enology

Kristin Kiesel, Lecturer, PSOE, Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics

Alyson Mitchell

Alyson Mitchell, Ph.D., John Kinsella Endowed Chair in Food and Nutrition, Professor, Food Science and Technology

Elina Nino

Elina Niño, Ph.D., Extension Apiculturist, Department of Entomology and Nematology

Anita Oberholster

Anita Oberholster, Assistant Cooperative Extension Specialist. Department of Viticulture and Enology

Santiago Ramirez

Santiago Ramírez, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Evolution and Ecology

Robbin Thorp

Robbin W. Thorp, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus, Department of Entomology and Nematology

Neal Williams

Neal Williams, Professor, Department of Entomology and Nematology